FAQ

How do I apply for a License To Carry (LTC)?

Start at the Texas Department of Public Safety's online application found here: https://txapps.texas.gov/txapp/txdps/chl/.

How much is the LTC state application fee?

As of September 1st, 2017, the highest fee any Texan will pay for their license to carry application is $40. Depending on your specific circumstances, you may be entitled to a reduced price application fee, such as for veterans, active duty military, certain law enforcement officers, and more. Please consult the fee schedule provided by the Texas Department of Public Safety, found here.

Where do I get my fingerprints done?

Fingerprinting is done exclusively by IdentoGO (MorphoTrust USA, formerly L-1 Enrollment). Click here to schedule an appointment, or call (888) 467-2080. When asked for a service code, use 119Q91.
If you qualify for alternative fingerprint processing under HB-698 (83rd legislature), you will need to contact the Regulatory Services Division of the Department of Public Safety at 512.424.7293 or via email.

Do I need to submit passport photos for my application?

Texas DPS will use your Driver License or State Issued ID photo that they already have on file. If you are an out-of-state applicant, and do not currently hold a Texas-issued ID or Driver License, you will need to submit passport-style photos attached to the CHL-6 form, along with a form of state-issued photo ID from your state of residence.

When will my LTC expire?

Your first license will expire on the fourth anniversary of your first birthday after issuance of the license. For example, if your birthday is in January, and they issue your license in February, next January the four-year count-down timer begins. Thereafter, your license will expire on your birthday, every five years.

How do I renew my LTC?

There is no longer a training requirement to renew a valid or recently (within the past 12-months) expired LTC. As long as your LTC has not been expired for a full year, you can log into the DPS Website to apply for renewal. Your completed application and paid application fee are all that the state requires. If your license has been expired for greater than 12 months, you will need to start all over as a new applicant, including taking the training course from a qualified instructor.

Once I get my LTC, can I carry in other states?

There are a number of states that recognize the Texas LTC. You will need to obey all local laws when you travel. Opencarry.org and Handgunlaw.us are good resources for finding which states recognize the Texas permit, and to find a summary of the laws in each state.

What is the shooting portion of the class like?

The course of fire includes 50 rounds, fired from distances of 3 yards, 7 yards, and 15 yards, at a B-27 style silhouette target. Each round is worth a maximum possible of 5 points, for a total of 250 possible points. Minimum passing score is 175 points, or 70%. As of September 1st, 2017, three is no longer a minimum caliber requirement for the range qualification. The test is timed. Students are expected to behave in a safe manner at all times.

How long will it take to receive my license?

Texas DPS will issue or deny your license within 90 days of receiving your completed application.

Can I carry a loaded handgun in my car without a LTC?

Guns & Roses CHL, LLC cannot provide legal advice. Please consult Texas Penal Code Chapter 46.02, and your competent attorney. A discussion of this section of law is included in the LTC Class.

Who has access to LTC holder information?

DPS cannot release license holder information to anyone except for a Law Enforcement Agency. License holder information is private, and not subject to open records inquiries.

Resources

Information on the Law

The CHL-16, Texas License to Carry a Handgun Laws and Selected Statutes, can be found here: http://www.dps.texas.gov/InternetForms/Forms/CHL-16.pdf.
HandgunLaw.us provides pdf summaries of the laws pertaining to carrying firearms in each of the 50 states, as well as US territories.
OpenCarry.org provides various maps & web-page summaries of weapons laws, including information on travel, transfers, prohibited places, etc.

Local Support

Citizens Association for Responsible Gun Ownership (CARGO) is a group organized for connecting, educating, and empowering gun owners in the local community. Licensed instructors, firearms dealers, collectors, shooters, and enthusiasts meet once a month to fellowship and to meet about topics germane to the 2nd Amendment, including licensed carry.
For information on the Wylie, TX chapter, please visit cargogunclub.org or email cargo@att.net.
For information on the Rockwall, TX chapter, please visit their Facebook page at facebook.com/CARGORockwall.

Local Shooting Ranges

Armadillo Guns

6710 Act Industries Cir, Nevada, TX, 75173
(972) 853-0602
armadilloguns.com

Ammo Depot

4725 FM 36 South, Caddo Mills, TX 75135
(903) 527-6120
ammunitiondepot.com

Garland Public Shooting Range

2606 Pleasant Valley Rd, Garland, TX 75040
(972) 495-5330
eaglepeakshootingrange.com